top of page
  • Carol Zeches Hendrickson

Are We Home Yet?


In 2008 I had the glorious opportunity to travel to Spain. “Doors & Windows” became my visual trademark. I took many pictures (too many for my fellow travelers’ liking) with the intention of making some kind of photomontage documenting the trip. What captured my optical attention; these weathered structures remained fixed in space yet witnessed the passing of 100’s of years. I wondered who graced these thresholds? What mysteries and celebrations burst through their portals?

Curb Appeal

If you’re in the housing market, curb appeal is everything. Realtors coach sellers on what will draw potential buyers; fresh paint, landscaping, walkway. For me it is the doors, windows and porches. They represent the space between, where inside and outside air swirl in a vortex of possibilities. Enter that space and find Home; safety and security within the boundaries of my abode.

“Whirling Door”

The image at the top of this post is a result of a studio day. I played with color and spiral designs, creating some 4-1/2″ x 6″ designs for cards and small pictures. I incorporated the Spanish door photos from 2008. On this day I found the perfect paring of swirling colors and the rich doorway memories to express the joy I feel in the new opportunities that have been given me. Celebrate the doors and windows in your life today!


0 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page