top of page
  • Carol Zeches Hendrickson

Summer Happy Place


I started writing this blog at the beginning of my summer break . . . .

. . . . Summer break is over. My teaching schedule provides bookends to frame evolving life experiences. Each summer brings different lessons, break-throughs, and ah-ha moments capturing a new season’s repose. I am fortunate to belong to an educational community which takes time for the important stuff, like reflecting on our “Summer Happy Place”. Now, to be clear, I am zealous about Morning Pages (Julia Cameron and The Artist’s Way). I commit to three pages of cursive emoting each morning. But, although I get it down on paper, the thought of verbalizing the essence of my summer in an “elevator talk” had me in tears long before it was even close to my turn; only because I was overwhelmed with gratitutde for everything that happened. Eventually, my colleagues to my right had their turns and sat down. It was now up to me to rise to the occasion. This is how it went: “I had a stellar summer vacation. I got to spend a week in Colorado, Springs, with my youngest son and his family; I got to spend a week in Austin with my oldest son and his family along with my oldest daughter; I got to celebrate my youngest daughter’s engagement to the man of her dreams; I spent many hours creating in my studio; I road my bike (Nautilus) a few hundred miles; and I just got home from cradling my newest granddaughter in my arms.” Whew! I made it through. Why was this a big deal? Because I accomplished my dreams. There was one adjustment though – I did it solo. That was not the plan. But that did not hinder the Universe from ushering passion, joy, goodness and love into my world. Oh, so grateful!


1 view0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page