top of page
  • Carol Zeches Hendrickson

Waiting Room


This is a sketchbook entry from June 23,2014 as I sat in a hospital waiting room. It is a habit of mine to sketch while in anticipation of my name being called, or as in this case, waiting for results on a friend’s condition. Waiting . . . . waiting . . . . waiting . . . . for news, for time, for people, for events, for situations, for the cookies to come out of the oven; so I can finally enjoy the life of my dreams. It’s just around the corner. Do this one last thing right and all will be perfect. The story book ending will appear; like magic!

“Magic” has been my measuring stick for direction for way too long. I’m climbing out of this dungeon of despair over my powerlessness to change anything that matters to me. Today’s lesson comes from: making a different choice, moving in a new direction, looking from a different perspective, listening to God in the ordinary. Suddenly everything is alive and in motion; things start to happen. It’s like the current of a river or wave. The rhythm is contagious and gives back a hundred fold. I love it! What a wonderful day. Leave room to wait.


9 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page